Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

Welcome Back Wednesday!??? November 27, 2013

Filed under: Recipes,Totally Crunchy — laurab06 @ 11:15 pm
Tags:

I realize I’ve been gone for a long while. I also realize that a few entries before this all started in a similar manner…sigh. We have had a lot going on and I haven’t been in the best frame of mind. My AWFUL, fell off the bandwagon, my allergy kid stopped nursing, I’ll eat whatever I want attitude hasn’t been helping that.

I’m not going to lie. I’ve been in the kitchen pretty much all week so far. Between cooking and cleaning I’ve been keeping this household pretty busy. We’ve focused on homeschool a little bit but most of Lil’s learning has come from real world applications (cleaning, cooking, shopping, library, etc.) this week. My heart is heavy from losing my grandfather almost two weeks ago. It really hit me this week…and hard today with all the holiday prep. In a way, the sadness has forced me to keep going….hanging with the kids, cleaning, and cooking have been my refuge. It has catapulted me into eating better, relaxing more, just taking better care of me. I want to be here as long as I can with my kids and family before I’m taken home too and get to see Grandpa again.

So this week, Thanksgiving week off all weeks, I decided enough was enough! Where better to start on welcome back Wednesday than with all the wonderful, amazing, delicious concoctions I’ve made this week (with a little help from some other foodie bloggers!). Here we go!

My folks came up Tuesday and I needed something quick and hearty. So I started here with some help from Once a Month Meals! The flavor of this paleo vegetable soup reminds me of stuffed cabbage rolls. I swapped out sweet potatoes for some homegrown white ones (totally not paleo, I know) we had laying around and I added some oregano. Next time I make this I’ll be adding red cabbage. I think it’ll really kick it up a notch! Whoa, Emeril Lagase flashback! BAM! πŸ™‚

As a side dish to the soup I also whipped up a version of Rachel Ray’s brussels sprouts with bacon. Had onion instead of shallot and used beef broth as I had some left over from the soup. Yuuuuuuum.

Today I had left over pancakes in the freezer for breakfast and soup for lunch but needed something to satisfy the kiddos and hubby tonight for dinner. I once again turned to Once a Month Meals (in case you haven’t noticed I love their stuff, the cooking once a month just doesn’t work for us). I whipped up some of the Turkey Sweet Potato Patties using a flax/chia “egg” in place of a real one since my LO still can’t have eggs. Delish! I did add some sage, as I LOVE sage with poultry πŸ™‚

Finally, been prepping for Thanksgiving! Mom and I are both gluten/dairy and kind of egg free so we are bringing our own “Thanksgiving” to my in laws this year. Yup, mainly because since going on my “I will eat whatever the hell I want” binge my stomach is a mess and I can’t take it anymore.

So, in case you’re curious what a Gluten and Dairy Free Thanksgiving looks like, here is a recipe round up from us!

My side salad is a Shaved Broccoli Salad from tasteloveandnourish.com. I doubled the dry ingredients, tripled the dressing (I used full fat greek yogurt, if my kiddo would eat it I’d use coconut milk yogurt) and left almonds out till tomorrow so they don’t get soggy. Love the smell/taste already. Can’t wait to see how amazing it tastes tomorrow.

Sweet Potato Casserole is from godairyfree.org. Roasted my sweet potatoes today! I’m using sunflower seeds in the topping and will be adding some coconut milk to the sweet potatoes to keep them moist. I really don’t want to risk them drying out with the cooking, drive to the in laws, and reheating/keeping warm. I MIGHT attempt doing them in the crock pot tomorrow morning and adding topping last minute πŸ™‚

I made spiced cranberry sauce too. It’s an old recipe I’ve been tweeking for a few years and think I finally have it down to perfection. I’ll have share that later!

My mom is bringing GF pumpkin pie and GF Cornbread Stuffing from livingwithout.com. We had these last year and they were amazing.

As for tomorrows breakfast we are enjoying GF/DF/EF French Toast Breakfast Cookies. πŸ™‚ The kids don’t know it yet but they will be so frigging excited in the morning! Followed by a light lunch of leftovers. Need to eat them all up before we bring home more!!

I hope you enjoy the recipes from these wonderful blogs and I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving!

Love and prayers of peace to you all.

 

Leave a Reply

