Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

A Day of Gluten/Dairy/Egg Free Eating May 9, 2013

Filed under: Elimination Diet,Recipes — laurab06 @ 2:59 pm
Tags:

A few weeks ago at MOPS a few moms and I got talking about the whole gluten, dairy, egg free diet. One of the statements that has left me pondering was “I wish someone would just lay out meals for me and make it easy for me!”

I don’t have recipes for all the food below but at least this might give someone an idea for a easy meal πŸ™‚ Here goes nothing!

Breakfast:
Green Smoothie (Kale, mango, banana, frozen peaches, almond milk & chia seeds)
2 Pieces of Bacon

Snack:
Dried Cherries & a few mixed nuts

Lunch:
Zucchini, Onion and mushroom “Chetza” (coined by my friend Mandi, it’s a play on chickpea (the flour used to make the dough), cheat (because it’s a flatbread folded in half to kinda resemble a calzone) and pizza, cause it has tomatoes sauce and toppings).
Steamed broccoli and cauliflower

Dinner:
Leftover Chicken soup (A few carrots, potatoes, stalks of celery, two chicken drumsticks, bone broth, spices/salt/pepper)

I think I snacked on some Chex cereal too πŸ˜‰

Here is the link to a chickpea flatbread recipe that I started with. Basically mix 1part chickpea flour to 1 part water (I usually do 1c flour to a little over 3/4c water) spices and a tbs of EVOO. Let that sit for at least a half hour so the flour soaks up the water. Turn on broiler, grease cast iron skillet, preheat it under broiler for at least 5mins. Remove and add flour/water mix. Put back under broiler. Once top is nice and cooked/starting to brown I remove the skillet, take flatbread out and flip it onto a pizza sheet. Sauce/top with VERY thin sliced veggies. Put back under broiler for a few minutes. Remove from oven, fold in half and let steam inside finish softening veggies. Cut and serve! Doesn’t look like much but…Delicious!!! πŸ™‚

20130509-163813.jpg

 

3 Responses to “A Day of Gluten/Dairy/Egg Free Eating”

  1. kara Says:

    yum! I am going to have to look into smoothie recipes more!

    • laurab06 Says:

      I wish I followed more recipes to share them! This morning they turned out soooooo yummy! I discovered if I blend a handful of kale with a half of banana or mango and a splash of almond milk first there are no ‘bits’ left over! Just creamy deliciousness. Add other fruits and milk and finish blending for perfection πŸ˜‰

  2. […] avocado, add in finely chopped onion, celery, carrots, dill pickles, mix and roll into lettuce – Cheta’s – BLT […]


Leave a Reply

