Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

I Love Food February 6, 2013

Filed under: Recipes — laurab06 @ 3:39 pm
Tags:

This week Costco had a 2lb bag of beautiful baby brussels sprouts for only $4.99. The best part? They are already cleaned and trimmed down, ready to steam or cook. I despise that part. Today for lunch I had nothing quick…mom was coming over…hm. Looked in the fridge and I had brussels sprouts, bacon, spinach, quinoa and some leftover dip/veggies from Sunday. Bacon brussels sprouts it is!!!

I found this Rachel Ray recipe. I’n normally not a Rachel Ray fan but it was a place to start. First off, 3 slices of bacon? I could eat that while cooking the bacon for this recipe 😉

I cooked up 1/2 a pkg of bacon I had left in the fridge and saved the grease for sautéing the onions and brussels sprouts (and left overs for tomorrows breakfast sweet potatoes!).

Instead of a shallot (which I didn’t have on hand) I used about 1/4 of a very large onion (maybe 1/2 of a medium or one small onion, seriously this thing was MONSTEROUS).

So, cook bacon, drain but reserve grease.
Add approx 1TBS grease back to pan and cook onions.
When tender add brussels sprouts (I used about 1.5lbs like the recipe calls for) and follow rest of the recipe.
After sprouts cooked lay raw baby spinach in serving dish, pour brussels sprouts and liquid over it. Chop as much or as little bacon as you’d like and top. Serve warm.

Yuuuuuuuuum.

20130206-153944.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

