Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

Roasted, Balsamic Glazed Veggies and Peach Crisp! January 12, 2013

Filed under: Elimination Diet,Recipe — laurab06 @ 9:32 pm
Tags:

We had a fantastic friends get together this evening. I was supposed to bring a side or dessert. Being me, and being that I know my diet is limited I thought “I’ll make a side dish I know is safe and then I’ll just buy dessert for everyone else.”

Then this morning I woke up and wanted peach crisp. Warm, delicious, juicy peach crisp smothered in whipped coconut butter.

20130112-202640.jpg

So I wish I could take credit for this delicious concoction, but this is a recipe I’ve made many times from one of my favorite blogs, Guten Free Goddess (http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2007/07/peach-crisp.html?m=1). It’s DELICIOUS. Like think of a warm summer day, sipping iced tea on the front porch as the house fills with the smell of fresh picked and prepared peaches cooking in the oven delicious. Yeah, it’s that good 😉

The one thing that I do differently is I use 2Tbs of coconut butter and 2Tbs of coconut oil. I like the texture the two products combined create 🙂

I also made roasted vegetables coverered in a balsamic glaze…

20130112-203346.jpg

Here is the jist of how I made it.

Balsamic Roasted Veggies:
ING (for veggies)
– a bunch of your favorite vegetables
(I used 1 small zucchini, 2 baby eggplant, 1sm yellow pepper, 1 pint of tomatoes, handful of green-beans, a handful of purple fingerling potatoes, a small onion)
– olive oil
– salt/pepper/Italian seasoning of your choice

ING (for balsamic glaze):
– 1c chicken or veg stock (homemade is best)
– 2 Tbs Sugar
– 3 Tbs balsamic vinegar

1) Preheat oven to 425. Cut up vegetables into somewhat similar sized bites & put them all in a large bowl. Drizzle in olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper and any seasoning you’d like (if using glaze salt and pepper is sufficient, if no glaze you can spice them however you’d like).

2) Transfer sufficiently oiled veggies to baking trays and pop into oven. Roast for 15mins, stir and switch bottom tray to top & top tray to bottom. Cook for 15mins more.

3) While veggies are cooking place broth into a sauce pan and heat on high till boiling. Let it boil for about 10mins or until it starts to reduce a little. Add in sugar and balsamic vinegar. Let boil for a while till it reduces and starts to get syrupy. Usually, once I see it reduce and just start to get syrupy I turn it off and leave it to sit. It will finish thickening in the pot while the veggies finish cooking.

4) After veggies are roasted to your liking transfer them to a serving bowl and serve as is or carefully stir in some of the glaze. Presto, delicious side dish served!

I should tell you the glaze is really flavorful because you’re reducing/concentrating the flavors. I either use a lot of veggies or only a little glaze 😉 Just taste test as you go and you’ll figure out your happy place in balsamic roasted veggie heaven!

 

Leave a Reply

