Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

2013 Is Here! January 1, 2013

Filed under: Mama Thoughts — laurab06 @ 12:28 am
Tags:

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

This is the first year since 2010 that I’ve actually STAYED up till midnight. I’m sure that come 6am when the both the girls are up I’m going to regret this decision. However, I’m enjoying sitting on the couch over stuffed from amazing (homemade) appetizers, dinner and dessert while sipping on some pink moscato champagne.

With all the resolutions flying around from friends and family I’ve had to think…what is mine? I tend to avoid resolutions because they never go anywhere. Often I change my mind halfway through the year or completly forget about I even made one. Honestly, now that I have two little ones to chase around it’s MUCH harder to focus on myself that much.

So, this year, instead of the obligitory “lose weight” (did that) or “eat better” (don’t really have a choice) or even “work out more” (I know all work outs will be hit or miss being a SAHM), I’m going with “Be more peaceful/comforted and calm”

I have a short fuse. I have a temper. I have a tendency to be very focused on things I can’t control and let them bother me/stress me.

This year I want to mediate on scripture verses that will remind and teach me to be thankful, peaceful and comforted knowing that I’m not alone. God (my husband, my family, my friends) are with me on this journey as a mom, a wife, a friend, a daughter, granddaugter, niece etc…and no matter what obstacles I face there is always a way to be peaceful in my heart about it.

I know that inner peace (which I’ve been lacking big time) will affect my attitude, my actions, my relationships, my focus etc. I’ll be able to better control my moods and reactions to my children which is a huge perk in my eyes. We’ve had quite a few rough days the last month with holidays/sicknesses etc.

There it is, be peaceful/comforted in 2013. To go along with this, a link to some of my favorite scripture verses on being peaceful and comforted.

Now, it’s way past my bed time the glass of champagne I polished off is making me sleepy and I know that as soon as I lay my head down Ana will be up to nurse…again…so I should sleep.

I hope you had a fantastic New Years Eve night and that 2013 is full of hope, joy, love and peace. God Bless and good night!

 

Leave a Reply

