Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

Oh So Yummy Chai! October 29, 2012

Filed under: Recipes — laurab06 @ 6:19 am

I love coffee. I love chai. I hate that commercial coffee shops only have cows or soy milk to put IN their coffee! I’ve only ran across one store (Mariano’s!!!) that has almond milk. Oh, and the church we have MOPS at carries coconut milk, that always makes me smile!!! I digress.

I’ve been working on my pumpkin spice lattes and chai tea at home so I can forgo the snazzy expensive alternatives that will inevitably make me or Ana sick. I found a recipe for a powdered chai tea the other day. I loved the idea but it was full of powdered coffee creamer and powdered milk. Yuck. It also had instant tea in it, which has no antioxidant benefits after being that processed and ultimately can contain high amounts of fluoride and BHA. (See here http://www.organicauthority.com/health/instant-iced-tea-a-refreshing-glass-of-potential-dangers.html).

So, I took pieces of the recipe and began exploring how to make it with fresh tea, coconut milk and water. You’ll need some coconut milk, loose leaf black tea, and chai tea base. See recipe below!

I started with mixing the following spices in a glass canning jar as a “base”

Chai Tea Base:
– 1c sugar
– 1.5tsp ground ginger
– 2tsp ground cinnamon
– 1tsp ground cloves
– 1tsp ground cardamom (can be omitted if you cant find it, I had a REALLY hard time locating it)
– 1tsp nutmeg
– 1tsp allspice
– 1/4tsp white pepper. Yes, pepper!
(Mix well in a jar and keep for lots of delicious tea!!!)

Now in a small saucepan combine: 6oz coconut milk, 6oz water, 2 heaping tablespoons (I just use a serving tablespoon) of chai base and 1-2tbs of black tea (1 for less tea taste, 2 for more).



Let the mixture come to a boil, whisking occasionally. See how the color changes? That’s all the delicious spices and tea mingling 🙂

After mixture comes to a boil turn off the heat and let it sit for a few minutes to let tea steep. Then using some form of straining device to pour the mixture into your coffee mug!

There you have it! Delicious, homemade chai tea!!!

 



 If you want a chai tea latte I’m betting you could heat up spice base and the 6oz of coconut milk then add in 6oz of strong coffee or brewed espresso. 🙂 Maybe next time…

 

Leave a Reply

