Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

My Third Mothers Day! May 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — laurab06 @ 6:04 am
I can’t believe this is my third one, I guess I didn’t really think about it till Ana and Lil were both here yesterday and I realized, wow, I’m a mom of two beautiful girls…doesn’t get much better than this! 🙂 Oh, and I got a beautiful flowering plant from Anthony and Lily 🙂 too cut

My and Anthony’s folks came over and we had quite a spread! Lots of fresh veggies, fresh smoked salmon (omg yum!), a beef roast, brown rice pasta & veggie salad, and mom brought a gf/df chocolate chip cake with agave chocolate frosting. I topped mine with some coconut cream and YUM!!!!! So, with all the deliciousness around I thought I’d share the recipes 😉
The pan sauce was a little vinegary for my taste so I added a little bit of gf BBQ sauce to it, thickened and then added the oninos to it instead of topping the meat and yum! We also just sliced the roast, some used it for sandwiches and others just ate it with pan sauce 😉
The pasta salad was my own creation. Basically:
– cut up desired veggies into bite size chunks,, toss in a mixture of oil, spices, salt & pepper.
– roast at 425 till tender, but still a little crisp
– meanwhile cook up a bag of rice pasta (mine were elbow macarroni shaped)
– toss it all together in a big bowl with any other spices you’d like. I added a little basil, oregano & garlic powder.
(I added about 1/3 of the balsamic vinegarete, let it sit overnight, checked taste and ended up adding the rest + some more salt and pepper before serving. Pasta soaked up a lot of dressing!)
I’m kicking myself for not taking a picture of it all…maybe I can get one tonight with dinner leftovers and post it 🙂
 

Leave a Reply

