Moderate Minded Mama

Walking the line between crunchy and modern everyday

Our Newest Menu! January 11, 2014

Filed under: Recipes — laurab06 @ 12:27 am
Tags:

I’m in a recipe rut. Nobody in the house seems to be any help. I was looking for inspiration online and managed to strike gold. In an effort to “stir up the pot” but not stray too far from our typical meals this is the menu I’ve laid out for the next few weeks. I say weeks because these will make lots of left overs which I can freeze for future meals.

Breakfasts:
Peanut Butter Granola Bars (subbing in a chia egg and almond butter)
– Smoothies & Bacon (Try this Tropical Green smoothie from OnceAMonthMeals.com or this one from MindBodyGreen!)
– Pancakes & Sausage (homemade sausage idea from MarksDailyApple!)
Sweet Potato & Black Bean Hash

Lunches:
– GF Fried Chicken Tenders (I use Cooking For Isaiah flour mix and coconut milk instead of egg to bread)
– Ham roll ups, fresh fruits and veggies with hummus dip (simple and one of my kids favorites)
Sweet Potato and Kale Patties (we used turkey last time and they were amazing)
Chicken and Broccoli Chowder

Dinners:
5 Ingredient Taco Rice Bake
Ham and White Beans (Crock Pot! I usually sneak some VERY finely diced veggies in this!)
BBQ Chili (we use homemade stock and cooked ground beef) and gf/df/ef corn bread
– Leftover Maple Bacon Pork Loin w/ Roasted Brussels Sprouts

A few notes about our meals.
1) We make a lot from scratch with the allergies in our house. If your family cannot swing strictly homemade aim for quality ingredients over quantity. Especially when it comes to meats and eggs. Making half of a main dish recipe with high quality ingredients and eating smaller portions (with lots more fresh veggies and fruits!) will make you feel immensely better and save you $$$$.
2) Every meal in our house is accompanied by a raw, steamed, or roasted vegetable. I don’t always list them here because I haven’t checked sales ads/Costco to see what’s on sale yet. :)
3) I.cook.a lot. A LOT. We like it that way! Our kids help out (even the little one!) & it is a great learning experience. The more they help the more likely they are to eat the meal.
4) Nobody is perfect. Even though I have these meals planned you bet there will be a night where I boil some gluten free noodles, open a jar of sauce, steam some veggies and called it a day. Heck, last night our kiddos had organic canned black beans, reheated french fries, avocado, and raw pear for dinner. Why? I had a migraine and there wasn’t much easily prepared. We aim for good weeks, especially with two (occasionally picky) kids in the house :)

I’m curious, do you meal plan? What meals are on the menu for next week?

 

5 Responses to “Our Newest Menu!”

  1. Thanks!!! I’m going to try some of these!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. karabear80 Says:

    My sister-in-law and I just started meal planning together. I created an excel spreadsheet even! It has 3 columns: Meal Name and Cookbook/page#, Key ingredients that need to be defrosted or on hand, and whether it is stovetop, oven, or crockpot. It’s been helpful! :)

  3. Thanks for linking to our Broccoli Chicken Chowder! It’s one of my favorites!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.